Back to Connect
All-Party Parliamentary Water Group

About the Group

APPWG fringe meetingThe All-Party Parliamentary Water Group provides a forum for Parliamentarians and interested stakeholders to monitor government and regulatory policy and maintain a dialogue with government, Parliament, the water sector and a wide range of other interested groups. The Group has been running for nearly 10 years and is one of the most active All Party Groups in Parliament, holding regular meetings throughout the year on a wide range of topics.

The Group

The Group is led by a cross-party team of parliamentary officers, headed by our Co-Chairs, Liz Twist MP and Baroness McIntosh of Pickering.

Liz Twist MP, Co-Chair

Liz Twist has been the Labour Member of Parliament for Blaydon since June 2017 and is a Senior Whip. She has a strong union background and is passionate about well-run public services, healthcare, water quality and opportunities for local people. Her other interests and campaign areas include housing, rare diseases, wildlife and climate change. Liz Chairs the All-Party Parliamentary Groups on Phenylketonuria (PKU), Rare Diseases, Suicide and Self-Harm Prevention, and is Vice-Chair of the Net-Zero Group.


Baroness McIntosh of Pickering, Co-Chair

Anne McIntosh was elevated to the peerage as Baroness McIntosh of Pickering in October 2015 following a long career as first an MEP, from 1989 to 1999, and then as Conservative MP for Thirsk and Malton (formerly Vale of York) from 1997 to 2015. She has a huge range of experience and expertise in environmental policy having served as Shadow Environment Minister from 2007 to 2010 and as Chair of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee from 2010 to 2015.



Information on all the group’s officers can be found here.

Group materials


MINUTES: March 2022 – The race to net zero

Income and Expenditure Statement


MINUTES: October 2021 – Drowning in bills: Why water poverty should matter to Parliament 

MINUTES: July 2021 – PR24 how does the water sector deliver the 25 Year Environment Plan

PRESENTATION: July 2021 – PR24 how does the water sector deliver the 25 Year Environment Plan


MINUTE: December 2020 – A Year to COP26

PRESENTATION: December 2020 – A Year to COP26

MINUTE: October 2020 – Devolution: What can the regions learn from one another

MINUTE: July 2020 – Agriculture Bill: A new opportunity for the water industry

PRESENTATION: July 2020 – Importance of the Agriculture Bill to the water sector

MINUTE: May 2020 – Covid-19: How is the industry responding?

PRESENTATION: May 2020 – Covid-19: How is the industry responding?


MINUTE: February 2019 – Price Review 2019

MINUTE: April 2019 – Future of the Water Sector

MINUTE: May 2019 – Brexit and the Environment Bill

MINUTE: October 2019 – The Water Regulator


MINUTE: February 2018 – Water Infrastructure and the National Policy Statement for Water Resources

MINUTE: March 2018 – Better Water Usage and the 25 Year Environment Plan

MINUTE: April 2018 – The introduction of retail competition: one year on

MINUTE: June 2018 – The Adoption of Sustainable Drainage Systems

MINUTE: July 2018 – Is there a crisis of trust in water companies?

MINUTE: September 2018 – AGM and Quality of water and rivers: One year on from WWF’s report, Flushed Away

MINUTE: October 2018 – Water and the Agriculture Bill

Group Sponsors

The Group is supported by a range of organisations across the water sector who help fund the running of the Group via its secretariat, Connect. If you are interested in finding out more about the role of a sponsor, please contact


Contact the Group

If you have any questions or would like to find out more about the Group, please contact the Group’s secretariat via

This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group

Sign up for updates

If you would like to receive notification of forthcoming Group meetings, please enter your details below:


    Job Title